T Minus 2 Days

Each day this week I have left school thinking, “its really almost over.” Its almost hard for me to wrap my head around which is a bit crazy considering I’ve known since day 1 that my last day would be this Friday. I had the opportunity to talk to a couple other student teachers a couple of weeks ago and it was then that I realized just lucky I was with my mentor teacher, with my students and with my school. When I say I landed the king of all the mentor teachers I’m really not kidding. It was a bit nerve racking having last years teacher of the year and the HMS celebrity teacher be my mentor but I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. He taught me so many things I had never even taught about doing and never once did he make me feel inferior or as if I didn’t know what I was doing. He trusted me with his classes and his students and I sincerely thank him for that, I don’t think that is an easy thing to do. As I mentioned my mentor teacher pretty much dominates the school, the students LOVE him and for good reason. I’m not exactly sure how they all felt about me coming in the class and taking over but the did an awesome job with it. The other day 7th period suggested that either my mentor teacher break is legs or get pregnant so that I could stay. I never taught I wanted to teach 8th grade but these students have definitely changed my mind. These kids have amazing minds and are capable of so much. Plus there are so much fun things like, colonial days and rope tying that you can get away with doing with 8th graders but not high schoolers.

See a seriously GREAT experience. And see thats why it sucks that its all coming to an end. But that just means onto new things. I absolutely can’t wait to get my own classroom and be a real teacher. I am so happy that I took the risk and went back to get my certification. I think the reason I have been so happy this semester is because I love teaching and I can’t wait for what the future has in store.

Twizzlers snacking
Klondike bars from our awesome student’s mom
stamina
“google”
Is Corn, Wallis’ first name?
Magnet army men
States videos
Team meeting tell all’s
Revolution, the documentary
1607…Jamestown
my teacher cup
Tuesday duty station
Department meetings
Teaching 1000 kids Koob
Rope tying
Political Cartoons
Valley Forge Letters

Also it turns out no one missed that decent sized portion I left out in my portfolio…HAPPY DAY

Leave a Reply

